London Sportif held an awards ceremony for their high achievers.

Published: 12 April 2024

I was invited to London Sportif’s 7th-year awards ceremony, which was held on 3rd March 2024, which was a remarkable event, celebrating the achievements and contributions of individuals in various sports and community initiatives. The diversity of activities and recognition showcased a vibrant and engaged organisation delivering community cohesion and youth engagement through sports.

Held at the Jessie Jackson Sports Hall, London Enterprise Academy, Commercial Road, London, the awards event was hosted by the glamorous Megna Uddin, and many personalities picked up multiple awards for their contributions and dedication in cricket, football, and badminton.

The opening recitation was delivered beautifully by Esa Jakir Khalil, Vice President of London Sportif.

The hall was packed out with dignitaries, community reps, sports personalities, and their families. I was impressed to see lots of young people watching tentatively throughout the evening and some children also picking up the Junior Awards for their involvement in summer and half-term activities.

Ibrahim Khalil, President of London Sportif, and a well-known face of the community media, gave a welcome speech which was followed by a loud applause of approval from the audience.

The Board of Directors of London Sportif were all called to the stage, including:

Ibrahim Khalil – President

Esa Jakir Khalil – Vice President

Muhibul Alam – Secretary

Atikur Rahman – Treasurer

Muhi Mikdad – Club Manager

Forhad Uddin – Event Manager

Kalim Uddin – Sports Development Secretary

Rezaul Kabir – Cricket Manager

Shueb Ahmed – Communication Secretary

Women’s Board ( Shumina Salam, Fahima Begum, Khadiza Rahman, Moontaha Akther).

There were words of support and encouragement from the Lord Mayor of Cardiff, Cllr Bablin Molik, Mayor of Camden, Cllr Nazma Rahman, and the Speaker of Tower Hamlets, Cllr Jahed Choudhury. Also, words of support including from Cllr Sirajul Islam, Leader of the Tower Hamlets Labour Party, Oli Khan MBE, President of Bangladesh Caterers Association (BCA), Taysir Mahmud, General Secretary of London Bangla Press Club (LBPC), Mohammed Emdadul Haque Chowdhury, and Ex-President of LBPC.

The Badminton Management Board led by Muhi Mikdad, Jubayrul Islam, Shahin Ahmed and Abdullah Mohim gave out various awards to the managers and the players for their dedication and commitment to delivering weekly competitive badminton sessions within the badminton community, as well as winning an impressive array of competitions.

London Sportif’s powerhouse and strength is their Cricket. The Cricket Management Board led by Rezaul Kabir, Muhibul Alam, Esa Jakir Khalil, Johirul Islam, Abul Hayat and Aminur Rahman is renowned in the Middlesex Cricket League, Division 4 and the London Cricket League, winning many accolades for their youth development programme. Various awards were given out to the managers and the players in recognition of their contributions to the development and success of London Sportif’s cricket initiatives.

London Sportif’s well-respected Football Team is managed by Forhad Uddin, Mizanur Rahman, Amin Rahman and Salman Hasnat with a multi-talented and multi-ethnic football squad, competing in the Inner London Football League (ILFL). Awards and recognitions were given to players for their contributions to London Sportif’s football initiatives.

London Sportif not only competes in badminton, cricket, and football, but it also contributes immensely to giving something back to the community. It regularly engages with young people and their parents in holiday activities and food programs (HAF) for ages 5- to 13-year-olds.

The awards sessions were bolstered by nasheeds beautifully sung by Rafi Munim, and sponsorship awards for Work Permit Cloud, Kalam Solicitors, JMG Cargo, and Broadway & West to name a few.

Some of the other familiar community representatives included Monir Ahmed (JMG Cargo), Khaled Noor, Polly Rahman (LBPC), Mesba Rahman MBE (London Tigers), Shah Yousuf (LB24), Md Rezaul Karim Mridha (Channel S), Mahee Ferdhaus Jalil (Channel S), Mizanur Rahman (Ekota Sports), Mustak Babul (ATN Bangla), and Yasmin Harun MBE (Muslima Sports Association), Kamal Ahmed (Broadway & West), Mohammed Chan Miah (BRTUK).

Finally, the awards night ended with a very 3-course dinner.